Whatever happened to The Journal of Silly? – Published: 16 Aug 2008

I saw this cartoon in the paper at the weekend and larfed and larfed.

Cartoon by Ham

It made me wonder what happened to the lesser known but much loved publication The Journal of Silly.

For those who never saw it, it was handy A5-sized magazine full of mostly single and double frame cartoons. Ham (the cartoonist, not the cured meat) was about the best of a great bunch of contibutors.

Google-ing the ‘The Journal of Silly’ doesn’t bring up many clues as to where it went. Maybe you know. Leave a comment if so.

_____________________

Comments

A visitor‘ left this comment on 21 Mar 10
I realise that I am about a year and a half late in commenting on this post but I have only just come across it having, out of the blue, wondered like you, what happened to The Journal of Silly. I used to subscribe to it, I might even have submitted to it, I can’t remember, but I do remember that I went off of it after a cartoon of mine that had appeared in Maxim was redrawn by Ham (although it might have been Knife who was the other main contributer after Ham).Now I know that people do have the same ideas from time to time (I sent a cartoon about a magician’s assistant being burried in a multipart coffin to Private Eye which was rejected only to see the same joke appear a couple of years later in Private Eye in cartoon by Ed McLachlan) but in the Journal of Silly’s case it was not that long after mine had been printed and, as I recall, the layout of the drawing seemed too close to be a coincidence.

I hope I don’t sound too ‘sour grapey’, it was just a little disappointing.

A visitor‘ left this comment on 2 Mar 10
Interesting Article. Hoping that you will continue posting an article having a useful information. Thanks a lot!Your articles develop my mind.I think somepeople may not be aware of the quality of some of the art that is available at this auction.This article gives the light in which we can observe the reality.

this is very nice one and gives in depth information. thanks for this nice article Good post…..Valuable information for all.I will recommend my friends to

read this for sure &

A visitor‘ left this comment on 2 Mar 10
Interesting Article.thanks for this nice article Good post…..Valuable information for all.I will recommend my friends to read this for sure &

One response to “Whatever happened to The Journal of Silly? – Published: 16 Aug 2008

  1. Hi. I was a subscriber to JoS and contributed some cartoons in the latter issues. I believe Ham was Argentinian and returned home. Knife went on to produce the “Its Grim up North London” strip which ran in Private Eye for about 5 years. JoS seemed to peter out, I think Knife ran it on his own for a while, but maybe the workload was too much to sustain it.

Leave a Reply

